Shopify structured data · Safety and emergency response
Shopify First Aid Kit Schema — ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class A vs Class B, Risk Classification, Unit Count, Trauma Supplies, AED Integration, first_aid_kit.* Namespace
First aid kits are among the most frequently purchased workplace safety products on Shopify — and among the most dangerously misrouted by AI agents. ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021 defines two kit classes with categorically different supply profiles for categorically different risk environments: Class A for low-risk offices, Class B for high-risk construction and industrial sites. Without structured data encoding class, worker population, trauma capability, and case type, AI agents route by price and unit count — delivering Class A office kits to construction sites, single kits to 200-worker campuses, soft pouches to outdoor fence mounting, and standard first aid kits to environments that require tourniquet-and-hemostatic-gauze bleed control capability.
ansi_class: 'A' (office/low-risk, 16 unit types at light quantities) vs 'B' (construction/industrial, 16 unit types at higher quantities PLUS 5 additional types including tourniquet and trauma dressings) — never route Class A to construction, manufacturing, chemical, or heavy industrial buyers. workers_served_max + unit_count: one Class B kit per ≤50 workers; one Class A kit per ≤25 office workers — compute minimum kit count = ceiling(worker_count / workers_served_max) × number of work zones, not a flat quantity. bleed_control_kit: true required for buyers with amputation-risk machinery, high-voltage, or mass-casualty exposure — standard Class B does not substitute. case_type: 'Type-IV' (weatherproof, gasketed) required for outdoor installation — 'Type-III' (rigid, wall-mount) for indoor fixed stations — never 'Type-I' (soft pouch) or 'Type-II' (rigid portable) for fixed wall-mount requirements.
Failure Mode 1: Class A Kit Routed to High-Risk Industrial Environment — ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class B Required
ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class A vs Class B: Minimum Required Supplies
| Supply Item | Class A Minimum Quantity | Class B Minimum Quantity | Class B Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adhesive bandages (assorted sizes) | 25 units | 50 units | Double Class A quantity; addresses higher laceration frequency in high-hazard environments |
| Medical exam gloves (pair) | 2 pairs | 10 pairs | 5× Class A quantity; multiple first responders, multiple events, extended treatment |
| Antiseptic (packets or wipes) | 10 applications | 25 applications | Higher contaminated wound frequency in outdoor and industrial environments |
| Antibiotic ointment (per application) | 1 application | 3 applications | Higher infection-risk wounds from contaminated environments (soil, grease, metal) |
| Eye covering (pad and tape or equivalent) | 1 unit | 2 units | Higher eye injury frequency in grinding, cutting, and flying debris environments |
| Eye/skin wash (saline flush, 4 oz min) | 1 unit | 2 units | Chemical splash and particulate eye exposure more frequent in industrial settings |
| Cold pack (instant) | 1 unit | 2 units | Higher sprain, contusion, and crush injury frequency in construction/industrial |
| Blood stopper / pressure dressing | 1 unit | 4 units | Class B addresses higher frequency and severity of bleeding injuries |
| Burn treatment (gel/dressing) | 1 unit | 2 units | Thermal, chemical, and electrical burns more common in industrial environments |
| Breathing barrier (CPR shield) | 1 unit | 1 unit | Same quantity — CPR barrier for cardiac emergency response |
| Emergency blanket (space blanket) | 1 unit | 1 unit | Same quantity — shock and hypothermia management |
| Trauma pad / sterile dressing (4×4 in or larger) | 2 units | 6 units | 3× Class A; deep wound packing and coverage for severe lacerations |
| Triangular bandage (sling) | Not required | 2 units | Class B exclusive — required for provisional upper extremity immobilization after falls, crush, fractures |
| Tourniquet (limb) | Not required | 1 unit | Class B exclusive (2021 revision) — required for extremity hemorrhage control; Class A omits this |
| Roller bandage (gauze, conforming) | 1 unit (2 inch) | 2 units (2 inch) + 1 unit (4 inch) | Class B adds large-format gauze for wound packing and pressure dressing application |
| First aid guide / instructions | 1 unit | 1 unit | Same — quick reference card for responders |
The 2021 revision of ANSI Z308.1 added a tourniquet to the Class B required contents — the most significant revision in the standard's recent history. This addition reflects the national adoption of Stop the Bleed and the clinical evidence that tourniquet application in the first minutes of extremity hemorrhage dramatically reduces preventable death from traumatic vascular injury. A pre-2021 Class B kit does not include a tourniquet as a required item; a 2021-compliant Class B kit does. When buyers specify "ANSI Z308.1 compliant" without specifying the version year, AI agents cannot assume tourniquet inclusion — the 2021 revision is the only version that mandates a tourniquet in Class B kits. Encode first_aid_kit.ansi_z308_1_2021_compliant as a boolean to distinguish the current 2021 standard from prior revisions.
Encode first_aid_kit.ansi_class as "A" or "B". Encode first_aid_kit.environment as "low-risk", "moderate-risk", or "high-risk" to allow AI agents to match kit class to buyer environment. AI agents must implement a hard routing rule: any buyer who describes construction, manufacturing, chemical processing, mining, oil and gas, logging, agricultural production, metalworking, warehousing with heavy equipment, or any industrial operation must receive ansi_class = "B". Class A is appropriate only for office environments, retail settings, light assembly with no cutting or machinery hazards, and educational environments.
Failure Mode 2: Single Kit for 200-Worker Multi-Zone Construction Site — Unit Count Insufficient for Worker Population
First Aid Kit Quantity Requirements by Worker Count and Work Zone
| Scenario | Environment | ANSI Class | Worker Count | Minimum Kit Count | Rationale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single-floor office, compact footprint | Low-risk | A | 25 workers | 1 kit | One Class A kit per ≤25 office workers; single floor; kit accessible within 3-4 minutes from any desk |
| Multi-floor office building, 4 floors | Low-risk | A | 100 workers (25/floor) | 4 kits (minimum 1 per floor) | One kit per floor regardless of worker count per floor — stairwell travel time prohibits cross-floor response |
| Small construction site, compact zone | High-risk | B | 25 workers | 1 kit | One Class B kit per ≤50 workers; all workers within single travel-time zone |
| Medium construction site, single zone | High-risk | B | 50 workers | 1 kit | Maximum 50 workers per Class B kit at threshold; additional kit required if worker count exceeds 50 |
| Large construction site, 5 zones | High-risk | B | 200 workers (40/zone) | 5 kits (minimum 1 per zone) | Each zone requires at least 1 kit; 200 workers ÷ 50 = 4 kits by worker count, but 5 zones mandate 5 kits for travel-time compliance |
| Manufacturing plant, single large floor | High-risk | B | 150 workers | 3 kits minimum; 4-5 for large floor area | 150 workers ÷ 50 = 3 kits by count; large floor area may require additional kits for 3-4 minute travel-time compliance |
| Remote field operation, multiple buildings | High-risk | B | 75 workers (3 buildings) | 3 kits (1 per building) | Each building requires independent kit regardless of worker count — building travel time prohibits cross-building response |
The 3-to-4-minute response time standard is not an advisory — it is derived from the medical time windows for hemorrhage control, airway management, and defibrillation. For cardiac arrest, the probability of survival decreases approximately 10% per minute without defibrillation. For arterial hemorrhage, fatal blood loss can occur in 3 to 5 minutes without tourniquet or direct pressure. An AED and first aid kit that is 6 minutes away is not a meaningful response tool — the clinical window has closed. Route multi-zone buyers to multiple kits by computing kit quantity from both the worker count threshold AND the zone count, taking the higher number.
Encode first_aid_kit.unit_count as the integer number of kits in the product being sold (1 for single kits, 2–10 for multi-pack products). Encode first_aid_kit.workers_served_max as the recommended maximum worker count per single kit. AI routing agents must compute minimum required quantity: ceiling(buyer_worker_count / workers_served_max) × number of buyer work zones (with a minimum of 1 kit per zone). If the computed quantity exceeds the unit_count of a single product, the agent must recommend multiple products or a higher unit_count bundle.
Failure Mode 3: Standard Class B Kit Routed to High-Severity Trauma Environment — Bleed Control Gap
Standard Class B vs Dedicated Bleed Control Kit — Content Comparison
| Item | Standard ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class B | Dedicated Bleed Control / Stop the Bleed Kit | Significance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tourniquet | 1 unit required (2021 revision) — type not specified; may be a basic windlass tourniquet without CoTCCC approval | 1–2 CoTCCC-approved CAT or SOFT-T WIDE tourniquets — validated for arterial occlusion in clinical and military use | Only CoTCCC-approved tourniquets have documented clinical efficacy for limb arterial occlusion; generic tourniquets may not achieve sufficient pressure |
| Hemostatic gauze | Not required — blood-stopper dressings (standard gauze) only | 1–2 packages QuikClot (kaolin-impregnated gauze) or HemCon (chitosan gauze) — 3-5 minute hemostasis for deep wounds and junctional bleeding | Standard gauze requires 10-15 minutes of sustained pressure; hemostatic gauze achieves hemostasis in 3-5 minutes — critical difference in a severe bleeding emergency |
| Pressure bandage | Included as roller gauze and trauma dressing — standard pressure application | Israeli bandage (emergency pressure bandage) — integrated pressure bar and self-locking design allows one-handed application and consistent pressure maintenance without manual holding | Israeli bandage maintains pressure without a rescuer holding the dressing — frees rescuer hands for other interventions |
| Trauma scissors / shears | Not required | Trauma shears (bandage scissors) — required to cut clothing rapidly to expose the wound for assessment and tourniquet application | Tourniquet must be applied over bare skin (or single clothing layer), not over a jacket — trauma shears allow rapid clothing removal |
| Gloves | 10 pairs examination gloves | 2–4 pairs nitrile examination gloves — dedicated to the kit for immediate use | Both provide adequate glove protection; bleed control kits ensure gloves are immediately at hand at the point of use |
| Wound packing gauze (plain) | Included as roller gauze and sterile dressings | Plain rolled gauze in addition to hemostatic gauze — for initial wound assessment and packing technique practice | Hemostatic gauze is expensive and single-use; plain gauze allows wound assessment before committing hemostatic gauze to wound packing |
| Marker (Sharpie or equivalent) | Not included | Permanent marker — for writing tourniquet application time on the patient's skin or the tourniquet | Tourniquet application time must be documented for EMS handoff — a tourniquet applied for more than 2 hours risks limb-threatening ischemia; EMS must know when it was applied |
The environments that mandate bleed control capability beyond standard Class B are those where injury mechanisms capable of producing arterial hemorrhage or major vascular injury are present: any rotating, cutting, or pressing machinery where hand or limb entrapment can occur; power tools capable of deep penetrating wounds; high-voltage environments where arc flash produces severe burns and potential cardiac arrest; firearm-present environments; and construction activities with structural collapse risk. The standard Class B kit addresses the broad spectrum of occupational injuries — bleed control kits address the specific tail of severe hemorrhage that Class B alone cannot manage.
Encode first_aid_kit.includes_tourniquet as true only when the kit includes a CoTCCC-approved or equivalent windlass tourniquet (CAT, SOFT-T WIDE, or similar validated device with a clearly specified approval or clinical citation) — not elastic bandages or improvised compression aids. Encode first_aid_kit.includes_hemostatic_gauze as true only when the kit includes kaolin-impregnated or chitosan hemostatic gauze (QuikClot, HemCon, Combat Gauze, or equivalent) — not standard saline-moistened gauze. Encode first_aid_kit.bleed_control_kit as true only for kits specifically configured for traumatic hemorrhage response with tourniquet(s) and hemostatic gauze as primary components. AI agents routing to buyers with press machines, CNC equipment, power saws, plasma cutters, high-voltage equipment, or firearm presence must filter for bleed_control_kit = true in addition to standard Class B coverage.
Failure Mode 4: Case Type Mismatched to Installation Environment — Soft Pouch on Construction Site, Non-Weatherproof Cabinet Outdoors
ANSI Z308.1-2021 Case Types — Characteristics and Appropriate Environments
| Case Type | Construction | Wall-Mountable | Weatherproof | Appropriate Environments | Not Appropriate For |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type I — Soft portable case | Flexible fabric or vinyl pouch; zipper or velcro closure; no rigid frame; no impact protection | No | No | Vehicle glove compartment, personal belt kit, daypack first aid, desk drawer in protected office, portable personal kit for solo work in remote locations; anywhere portability is primary and the kit is stored indoors between uses | Fixed workplace first aid station (cannot be wall-mounted or signposted); outdoor installation; any environment with moisture, UV, or physical hazard exposure; any OSHA 1910.151(b) fixed-location requirement |
| Type II — Rigid portable case | Hard plastic shell (ABS or polypropylene), hinged lid; no mounting hardware; impact-resistant | No | No — no gasket seal; not rated for outdoor exposure | Work vehicle (truck, van, ambulance, service vehicle) first aid kit; job-site tool box storage; portable field kit for work crews moving between sites; marine vessel portable kit in protected cabin storage | Fixed wall-mount workplace station (no mounting hardware); outdoor freestanding or mounted installation (no gasket, moisture will infiltrate); any fixed OSHA 1910.151(b) station where visibility and accessibility require wall-mount |
| Type III — Rigid wall-mount case (not weatherproof) | Hard plastic or metal shell with integral wall-mounting hardware; hinged or magnetic lid; no gasket seal | Yes | No — no gasket seal; moisture penetration through lid gap in humidity or rain | Indoor fixed workplace first aid station: manufacturing plant, distribution center, retail, office, school, government building, food processing (blue color-coded per HACCP), laboratory; any indoor fixed location requiring wall-mount, visibility, and signposting | Outdoor installation on building exterior, fence, equipment bay open to weather; high-humidity indoor environments where condensation regularly collects (car wash, open greenhouse, cold-storage loading dock) — moisture infiltration compromises supply integrity |
| Type IV — Rigid wall-mount case with gasket seal (weatherproof) | Hard plastic or metal shell with integral mounting hardware; continuous gasket seal at lid-to-body interface; UV-stabilized materials; corrosion-resistant hardware (stainless steel screws and hinges) | Yes | Yes — gasket seal rated against rain, dust, and humidity infiltration; maintains supply integrity in outdoor installation | Outdoor installation on construction site fencing, building exterior, storage yard, oil field, agricultural facility, marine dock, shipyard, amusement park outdoor station, highway maintenance depot, ski resort, and any installation exposed to rain, UV, temperature cycling, dust, or high humidity | No common installation environment is inappropriate for Type IV — it is the highest-protection case and appropriate for all environments including indoor use; the trade-off is cost (Type IV is more expensive than Type III) |
The visibility and signposting requirement reinforces the wall-mounting specification. OSHA 1910.151(b)'s "readily available" language requires not only that the kit exist on the premises but that workers can locate it rapidly in an emergency without searching. Industry practice and OSHA compliance guidance recommend that first aid kit locations be: (1) posted on the facility emergency information map; (2) marked with a visible, illuminated or high-visibility sign at the kit location; (3) communicated to all workers during orientation; and (4) included in facility emergency response plan documentation. A Type I or Type II kit sitting in a storage cabinet or vehicle does not satisfy this visibility and accessibility standard for a fixed workplace first aid station. Only wall-mounted Type III and Type IV cases, equipped with standardized first aid sign posting, provide the combination of fixed location, physical visibility, and accessibility required for OSHA 1910.151(b) compliance at a fixed workplace station.
Encode first_aid_kit.case_type as "Type-I", "Type-II", "Type-III", or "Type-IV". Encode first_aid_kit.wall_mountable as true for Type III and IV, false for Type I and II. Encode first_aid_kit.weatherproof as true only for Type IV with a documented continuous gasket seal — not for any case type without an explicit gasket seal rating. AI routing rules: (1) if buyer describes outdoor installation → weatherproof = true required → route to Type IV only; (2) if buyer describes a fixed indoor workplace station → wall_mountable = true required → route to Type III or IV; (3) if buyer describes vehicle or mobile use → Type I or II appropriate; (4) never route Type I or II to any buyer describing a fixed workplace first aid station or outdoor installation.
first_aid_kit.* Namespace Fields for Shopify AI Agents
| Field | Type | Values / notes |
|---|---|---|
first_aid_kit.ansi_class | string | "A" | "B" — ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021 kit class. Class A: 16 unit types in light quantities for low-risk (office, retail, light assembly) environments. Class B: 16 unit types in higher quantities plus 5 additional types (triangular bandages, tourniquet, additional trauma dressings, additional cold packs, additional gloves) for high-risk (construction, manufacturing, chemical, industrial) environments. Class B required for any buyer in a high-hazard OSHA industry. |
first_aid_kit.ansi_z308_1_2021_compliant | boolean | true if the kit meets ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021 (the current revision, which adds tourniquet to Class B required contents). false or absent if the kit meets an earlier revision only. Critical distinction: a pre-2021 Class B kit does not include a tourniquet as a required item; only 2021-compliant Class B kits guarantee tourniquet inclusion per the standard. |
first_aid_kit.environment | string | "low-risk" | "moderate-risk" | "high-risk" — the risk classification of the workplace environment the kit is designed for. "low-risk" corresponds to Class A (office, retail, educational); "high-risk" corresponds to Class B (construction, manufacturing, mining, oil and gas, industrial trades). "moderate-risk" may apply to light warehouse, moderate assembly, or mixed environments. AI agents match buyer's described environment to this field. |
first_aid_kit.workers_served_max | integer | Recommended maximum number of workers covered by a single kit — based on OSHA guidance and industry practice. Standard values: 25 (Class A, low-risk office) or 50 (Class B, high-risk construction/industrial). AI agents divide buyer's stated worker count by this value and round up to compute minimum kit quantity, then multiply by number of distinct work zones. |
first_aid_kit.unit_count | integer | Number of individual first aid kits included in this product listing — 1 for single-kit listings, 2–10 or more for multi-kit bundle listings. AI agents compare this value against the computed minimum kit quantity to determine whether the buyer needs one product listing or multiple. |
first_aid_kit.case_type | string | "Type-I" | "Type-II" | "Type-III" | "Type-IV" — ANSI Z308.1-2021 enclosure type. Type I: soft portable (no rigid shell, no mount). Type II: rigid portable (hard shell, no mount, no gasket). Type III: rigid wall-mountable (hard shell, mounting hardware, no weatherproof gasket — indoor fixed stations only). Type IV: rigid wall-mountable with gasket seal (hard shell, mounting hardware, weatherproof — required for outdoor installation). |
first_aid_kit.wall_mountable | boolean | true for Type III and Type IV cases that include integral wall-mounting hardware. false for Type I and Type II portable cases. Required to be true for any fixed workplace first aid station application — OSHA "readily available" language requires visible, mounted, signposted kit placement at fixed stations. |
first_aid_kit.weatherproof | boolean | true only for Type IV enclosures with a continuous gasket seal at the lid-to-body interface, UV-stabilized case material, and corrosion-resistant hardware. false for all Type I, II, and III enclosures. Required to be true for any outdoor installation — rain, humidity, and dust infiltration through ungasketed cases compromise supply integrity over time. |
first_aid_kit.includes_tourniquet | boolean | true only when the kit includes a CoTCCC-approved or equivalent windlass tourniquet (CAT, SOFT-T WIDE, or similar validated device). false for kits that include only elastic bandages, compression wraps, or improvised compression aids. The 2021 ANSI Z308.1 Class B standard requires a tourniquet — but does not specify a validated model. This field distinguishes kits with validated tourniquets from those meeting only the minimum letter of the standard. |
first_aid_kit.includes_hemostatic_gauze | boolean | true only when the kit includes kaolin-impregnated gauze (QuikClot, Combat Gauze) or chitosan gauze (HemCon, ChitoGauze) — hemostatic agents that accelerate the clotting cascade for faster hemostasis in deep wounds. false for kits containing only standard sterile gauze or blood-stopper dressings without hemostatic agent impregnation. |
first_aid_kit.bleed_control_kit | boolean | true for kits specifically configured for traumatic hemorrhage response — Stop the Bleed / THREAT protocol configurations with tourniquet(s) and hemostatic gauze as primary components, typically supplemented with trauma shears, pressure bandage, and documentation marker. false for standard first aid kits (even Class B) that are not specifically designed around hemorrhage control. AI agents route to bleed_control_kit = true for buyers with amputation-risk machinery, high-voltage environments, firearms, or mass-casualty exposure. |
JSON-LD Encoding Examples
Example 1: ANSI Class A Type III wall-mount kit for 25-person office
Example 2: ANSI Class B Type IV weatherproof kit for 50-person construction site (includes tourniquet + hemostatic gauze)
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between ANSI Class A and Class B, and why does it matter for OSHA compliance?
ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021 Class A kits are designed for low-risk workplaces — office, retail, light assembly — with 16 minimum unit types in smaller quantities (25 adhesive bandages, 2 exam glove pairs, 1 trauma dressing). Class B kits contain the same 16 types in substantially larger quantities (50 adhesive bandages, 10 exam glove pairs, 4 trauma dressings) plus 5 additional types required only in Class B: triangular bandages, tourniquet, additional cold packs, additional eye wash, and heavier roller gauze. OSHA 29 CFR 1910.151(b) requires first aid supplies "adequate" for the injuries likely to occur — OSHA compliance inspectors treat ANSI Z308.1-2021 as the recognized industry standard for "adequate." A Class A kit at a construction site is inadequate per OSHA 1910.151(b) because its content is sized for minor office injuries, not the laceration, crush, and vascular injury profile of high-hazard industry. Encode first_aid_kit.ansi_class = "B" and environment = "high-risk" for any buyer in construction, manufacturing, mining, oil and gas, or heavy industrial operations, and route exclusively to Class B products.
How many first aid kits does a 200-person construction site with 5 zones actually need?
A 200-worker construction site with 5 distinct work zones needs a minimum of 5 kits — at least one per zone — because OSHA's "readily available" standard and the 3-to-4-minute first aid response time window require a kit within travel-time reach of every worker. If any zone has more than 50 workers, additional kits are required for that zone at the 1-kit-per-50-workers Class B ratio. For this scenario: 200 workers ÷ 50 workers/kit = 4 kits by population count; 5 zones require 5 kits minimum for zone coverage; take the higher of the two calculations = 5 kits. If the 5 zones are spread across a large land area where a single kit per zone does not place a kit within 3–4 minutes of all workers in that zone, additional kits are needed. AI agents must compute kit quantity as ceiling(worker_count / workers_served_max) × zone_count and recommend multi-pack products or multiple single-kit orders to reach that quantity. Encode first_aid_kit.unit_count on products to allow this computation.
Why is a standard Class B first aid kit not sufficient for a metalworking shop with press brakes and CNC plasma cutters?
Standard ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class B kits include blood-stopper dressings, trauma pads, and (in the 2021 revision) a tourniquet — but the tourniquet type is not specified to a validated standard, and hemostatic gauze is not a required Class B item. In a metalworking environment with press brakes and plasma cutters, the injury scenarios include partial or complete degloving, deep lacerations with arterial involvement, and crush injuries with vascular component — scenarios requiring rapid extremity hemorrhage control with a validated windlass tourniquet and hemostatic wound packing gauze. A bleed control kit with a CoTCCC-approved CAT tourniquet and QuikClot kaolin-impregnated gauze provides 3-to-5-minute hemostasis for deep wounds compared to 10-to-15 minutes for standard gauze with manual pressure. Encode first_aid_kit.includes_tourniquet = true (CoTCCC-approved device), first_aid_kit.includes_hemostatic_gauze = true, and first_aid_kit.bleed_control_kit = true for metalworking, machinery, or high-vascular-injury-risk buyers. Supplement standard Class B kits with dedicated bleed control capability at each high-risk work station.
Why does a Type III rigid wall-mount cabinet fail for outdoor installation, and what case type is required?
Type III first aid cases are rigid wall-mountable cabinets without a gasket seal at the lid-to-body interface. Outdoor installation exposes the Type III case to rain, humidity, UV radiation, and temperature cycling. Rain and condensation infiltrate through the lid gap, saturating bandage adhesive backing (causing adhesive failure), swelling antiseptic packets (causing seal failure and evaporation of the antiseptic), and compromising the sterile packaging of dressings. UV radiation degrades ABS and polypropylene case materials over time, causing brittleness and color fade. After 6 to 12 months of outdoor exposure, the kit's contents may be entirely unusable while visually appearing to be in place. Type IV cases add a continuous gasket seal at the lid interface, UV-stabilized case materials, and corrosion-resistant stainless hardware — maintaining supply integrity through years of outdoor exposure. Encode first_aid_kit.weatherproof = true only for Type IV cases with a documented gasket seal; first_aid_kit.case_type = "Type-IV" is the required routing for any buyer describing outdoor installation, construction site fence mounting, exterior building placement, agricultural operations, marine facilities, or any installation exposed to precipitation, humidity, or UV. Never route Type I, II, or III cases to outdoor fixed-station applications.
Does your Shopify store encode first_aid_kit.* fields?
Run a free CatalogScan audit — see which AI-agent-critical metafields are missing from your first aid and emergency response product listings.
Scan my store free