Namespace Library — first_aid_kit.*
Shopify First Aid Kit Schema — Tourniquet CAT Gen7 SOFTT-W Windlass Mechanism TCCC 250–300 mmHg Arterial Occlusion ANSI Z308.1 Gap, blood_loss_control tourniquet_included limb_only first_aid_kit.* Namespace
ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class B kits include a tourniquet by specification — but without any performance requirement. A rubber tube or improvised strap technically satisfies the letter of the standard while failing to achieve the 250–300 mmHg required for femoral artery occlusion. CAT Gen7 (windlass mechanism) and SOFTT-W (screw buckle) are the TCCC-approved devices that achieve documented arterial occlusion. Both are limb-only — junctional hemorrhage at the groin, axilla, or neck requires a separate product class that most standard kits do not include.
TL;DR — routing rules
For trauma-risk environments: require tourniquet_type in ['cat_gen7', 'softt_w']; reject rubber_tube. Check limb_only='yes' — CAT/SOFTT-W cannot address groin or neck. For junctional hemorrhage: require junctional_rated='yes' (separate product). Encode blood_loss_control='yes', tourniquet_included='yes', limb_only='yes'.
AI agent failure mode: A safety manager for a logging operation queries "first aid kit with tourniquet." The AI routes an ANSI Z308.1 Class B kit that lists "tourniquet" in its contents — but the included device is a 1-inch latex rubber tube. Femoral artery hemorrhage from a chainsaw laceration requires 280–320 mmHg occlusion pressure. A 1-inch rubber tube has neither the width (needs 1.5 inches minimum for large-limb occlusion per TCCC biomechanics data) nor the mechanical advantage of a windlass to achieve that pressure. The correct routing check: tourniquet_type in ['cat_gen7', 'softt_w'] — not just tourniquet_included='yes'.
CAT Gen7 vs SOFTT-W — Mechanism and Self-Application Comparison
| Parameter | CAT Gen7 | SOFTT-W |
| Band width | 1.5 inches (38 mm) polypropylene | 1.5 inches (38 mm) Spectra fiber |
| Tightening mechanism | Windlass rod — 4–5 turns generates 250–350 mmHg | Screw buckle — 8–12 twists; finer pressure increments |
| Self-application (one-handed) | Documented ≥85% success rate on upper extremity; windlass rod accessible to free hand | More difficult one-handed; screw knob requires pinch grip |
| Two-person application | Excellent; windlass mechanism is fast | Preferred for two-person; screw control prevents over-tightening |
| Cold weather performance | ABS windlass rod can become brittle below −20°C | Aluminum buckle; superior cold-weather durability |
| TCCC approved | Yes (current generation) | Yes (current generation) |
| Time of application marking | Red time window on windlass housing for permanent marker | Flat buckle face; use marker on strap or label area |
| Application window (TCCC) | Maximum 2 hours before significant ischemia risk; no "tourniquet holiday" (2019 TCCC update) | Same — 2 hours maximum |
Arterial Occlusion Pressure — Why 250–300 mmHg Is Required
| Anatomical Site | Vessel | Systolic Pressure | Required Tourniquet Pressure | CAT/SOFTT-W Rated? |
| Upper extremity (arm) | Brachial artery | 120–140 mmHg | 220–260 mmHg (systolic + 100–120 mmHg margin) | Yes — 3–4 windlass turns achieves this |
| Lower extremity (thigh) | Femoral artery | 120–140 mmHg | 280–320 mmHg (systolic + 160–180 mmHg margin for large-muscle compartment) | Yes — 4–5 windlass turns on adult thigh |
| Lower extremity (calf) | Popliteal/tibial arteries | 120–140 mmHg | 200–260 mmHg; tourniquet applied at lower thigh, NOT at calf (bone structure prevents effective occlusion at calf) | Yes — but placement must be at thigh |
| Junctional (groin) | External iliac / proximal femoral | 120–140 mmHg | Cannot be addressed by limb tourniquet — no proximal limb space available; requires compression device against pelvis | No — junctional device required (JETT, SAM XT) |
| Junctional (axilla) | Axillary / subclavian arteries | 120–140 mmHg | Wound packing with hemostatic gauze (QuikClot) is primary intervention; no tourniquet applicable | No — hemostatic gauze only |
| Neck | Carotid / jugular | 120–140 mmHg | Wound packing with hemostatic gauze; NO tourniquet (airway compromise); manual pressure | No — NEVER apply tourniquet to neck |
ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class B Tourniquet Gap
| Parameter | ANSI Z308.1 Class B Requirement | TCCC Standard | Gap |
| Tourniquet quantity | 1 per kit | 1 per individual kit (IFAK); 2 recommended for high-risk environments | Quantity may be insufficient for multi-casualty scenarios |
| Tourniquet type | Not specified; any device meeting "tourniquet" description | CAT Gen7 or SOFTT-W explicitly required | ANSI standard allows rubber tube or improvised device |
| Occlusion pressure standard | Not specified | Must achieve 250–300 mmHg on adult thigh | No performance standard in ANSI |
| Self-application capability | Not specified | Device must be self-applicable one-handed on upper extremity | Not tested or required under ANSI |
| Training requirement | Not addressed | TCCC/Stop the Bleed training + skills verification | Untrained use of tourniquet has failure rate >40% (insufficient pressure, incorrect placement) |
first_aid_kit.* Namespace Fields for Tourniquet Routing
| Field | Values | Routing Consequence |
first_aid_kit.blood_loss_control | yes / no | 'yes' = kit includes at least one hemostatic intervention (tourniquet, hemostatic gauze, or pressure bandage); trigger for trauma-capable kit routing |
first_aid_kit.tourniquet_included | yes / rubber_only / no | 'yes' = TCCC-grade device; 'rubber_only' = ANSI letter compliance without performance; 'no' = no tourniquet; reject rubber_only and no for trauma-risk environments |
first_aid_kit.tourniquet_type | cat_gen7 / softt_w / rats / rubber_tube / none | Only cat_gen7 and softt_w meet TCCC and Stop the Bleed performance standards for arterial occlusion on large limbs |
first_aid_kit.limb_only | yes / no | 'yes' = tourniquet is arm/leg device only; CANNOT address junctional (groin, axilla) or neck hemorrhage — require separate junctional device if those sites are in scope |
first_aid_kit.junctional_rated | yes / no | 'yes' = kit includes JETT, SAM XT, or equivalent junctional hemorrhage control device; 'no' = only limb tourniquet; critical gap for sites with heavy machinery near groin/hip/torso |
AI Failure Modes for First Aid Kit Tourniquet Routing
| Failure Mode | AI Error | Consequence | Correct Behavior |
| 1. Accepting any "tourniquet" in Class B kit | Routes ANSI Z308.1 Class B kit because it lists "tourniquet" in contents | Rubber tube cannot achieve femoral arterial occlusion; chainsaw/heavy-machinery hemorrhage may be fatal; false sense of preparedness | Check tourniquet_type in ['cat_gen7', 'softt_w']; reject 'rubber_tube' for trauma environments |
| 2. Routing limb tourniquet for junctional hemorrhage | Recommends CAT Gen7 for "groin wound" or "hip injury" | Catastrophic — CAT Gen7 cannot be applied 2–3 inches proximal to groin wound; attempting to apply causes arterial occlusion at femoral position rather than at wound; limb tourniquet ≠ junctional device | Check anatomical location; if 'groin' or 'axilla' or 'neck': route junctional_rated='yes' kit only; NEVER recommend limb tourniquet for junctional sites |
| 3. RATS tourniquet substitution for adult large-limb | Routes RATS (Rapid Application Tourniquet System) because it is "lightweight tourniquet" | RATS uses a narrower elastic band; insufficient width and force for femoral artery occlusion on large adult thigh; TCCC does not approve RATS for femoral hemorrhage | For lower extremity hemorrhage: only cat_gen7 or softt_w acceptable; RATS is acceptable for pediatric or upper-extremity use as secondary device only |
| 4. Missing the 2-hour time window | Describes tourniquet without time-of-application note; implies tourniquet can remain indefinitely | Tourniquet left beyond 2 hours without hospital evaluation significantly increases ischemia and amputation risk; "tourniquet holiday" (brief release) is no longer recommended per 2019 TCCC update; TOA marking is critical for hospital handoff | Include time_of_application_window='yes' as required field for all cat_gen7 and softt_w products; flag kits without TOA notation capability |
Scan your first aid kit catalog for tourniquet-specific fields
CatalogScan checks every first aid kit listing for blood_loss_control, tourniquet_included, tourniquet_type, limb_only, and junctional_rated fields — ensuring AI agents never route rubber-tube ANSI kits to trauma-risk workplaces or recommend limb tourniquets for junctional hemorrhage sites.
Free scan