Shopify structured data · First Aid & Emergency Response Equipment
Shopify First Aid Kit Schema — Pediatric AED Pads for Children Under 8/25 kg, EpiPen Jr (0.15 mg) vs Standard EpiPen (0.3 mg), ANSI Z308.1 Pediatric Content Gap, School and Childcare, first_aid_kit.* Namespace
ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class A, B, and C do not specify pediatric AED pads or pediatric epinephrine dosing. Standard adult AED delivers 150-360 J — approximately 10 J/kg for a 20-kg child, versus the appropriate 2-4 J/kg. EpiPen (0.3 mg) vs EpiPen Jr (0.15 mg): wrong dose can cause cardiac arrhythmia in a child. Without first_aid_kit.pediatric_aed_pads and first_aid_kit.epinephrine_pediatric_rated, AI agents routing first aid kits to school and childcare settings will select adult-configured kits that cannot properly treat the primary pediatric emergencies.
pediatric_aed_pads='yes' AND epinephrine_pediatric_rated='yes'. ZOLL AED Plus and Philips HeartStart FRx support pediatric mode; Defibtech Lifeline VIEW does NOT. ansi_class='B' alone does not satisfy pediatric requirements.
Failure Mode 1: Adult-Only AED at School — No Pediatric Pads for 6-Year-Old Cardiac Arrest
AED Manufacturer Pediatric Capability — Routing-Critical Distinctions
| AED Model | Pediatric Pad / Mode | Mechanism | Pediatric Energy Delivered | first_aid_kit.pediatric_aed_pads Routing Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZOLL AED Plus | Yes — pediatric attenuator pads (PEDI-padz II) | Resistive attenuator in pad cable reduces adult 200 J to ~50 J delivered to patient | ~50 J | yes |
| Philips HeartStart FRx | Yes — infant/child key (SMART Pads II + key) | Key switch changes AED energy algorithm from adult to pediatric mode; same pads used with key inserted | ~50 J (pediatric mode) | yes |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 | Yes — pediatric pads (ICPR Child Pads) | Dedicated pediatric pads change device energy delivery algorithm; separate pad set required | ~85 J (reduced adult algorithm) | yes |
| Defibtech Lifeline VIEW | No — adult-only device | No pediatric pad option, no pediatric algorithm; delivers fixed adult energy protocol regardless of patient size | 150 J (adult only) | no — must NOT be routed to pediatric facilities |
| Physio-Control LIFEPAK CR2 | Yes — CHARGE-PAK with pediatric pads | Pediatric pads reduce energy delivery; separate pediatric pad pack required at time of purchase | ~85 J (pediatric mode) | yes — only if pediatric pads included in kit |
Failure Mode 2: ANSI Z308.1 Class B Kit for School — Standard Compliant, Pediatric Deficient
The ANSI Z308.1 gap for pediatric settings is structural: ANSI Z308.1 was developed as a workplace first aid standard for adult employees under OSHA 1910.151. It addresses occupational hazards for adults. Schools and childcare centers are not workplaces in the OSHA sense — they are regulated by state education and childcare licensing authorities, which have their own first aid requirements that often exceed ANSI Z308.1 for pediatric content. An AI agent routing first aid kits to school or childcare facilities using only ANSI Z308.1 classification will systematically under-specify pediatric content.
ANSI Z308.1 Pediatric Content Gap — What Is and Is Not Specified
| Item | ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class A | ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class B | Pediatric School/Childcare Need |
|---|---|---|---|
| AED (any) | Not specified | Recommended (not required) | Required by most state school laws; pediatric pads essential |
| Pediatric AED pads | Not mentioned | Not mentioned | Required for any facility with children under 8 / under 25 kg |
| Epinephrine auto-injector (EpiPen) | Not specified — prescription Rx | Not specified — prescription Rx | EpiPen Jr (0.15 mg) required for anaphylaxis response; many states have stock epinephrine laws for schools |
| CPR mask | 1 unit (adult size) | 1 unit (adult size) | Infant/child CPR mask required in addition to adult mask |
| Tourniquet | Not specified | Not specified (Class B supplement) | Pediatric tourniquet application guidance needed; CAT Gen7 sized for pediatric limbs |
| Poison Control guidance | Not specified | Not specified | Accidental ingestion is primary pediatric emergency — Poison Control (1-800-222-1222) documentation essential |
first_aid_kit.* Namespace Fields — Pediatric Routing
| Field | Type | Values / Notes |
|---|---|---|
first_aid_kit.pediatric_aed_pads | boolean string | yes / no — 'yes' = kit includes AED with pediatric attenuator pads or pediatric mode for patients under 8 years / under 25 kg; 'no' or absent = adult-only AED or no AED; MUST NOT be routed to schools, childcare, pediatric clinics, or facilities with regular child occupancy; must be verified against aed_manufacturer to confirm the specific AED model supports pediatric mode |
first_aid_kit.epinephrine_pediatric_rated | boolean string | yes / no — 'yes' = kit is designed for settings with EpiPen Jr (0.15 mg) availability for children under 30 kg; may include dosing documentation and secure storage rather than the auto-injector itself (prescription-only in US); required for routing to any facility where children with known allergies are present |
first_aid_kit.pediatric_rated | boolean string | yes / no — umbrella field: 'yes' requires pediatric_aed_pads='yes' AND epinephrine_pediatric_rated='yes' AND min_age_years='0'; use as primary routing gate for facility_type IN ['school', 'childcare', 'pediatric_clinic', 'summer_camp', 'youth_program']; ansi_class='B' does NOT imply pediatric_rated='yes' |
first_aid_kit.min_age_years | number | Minimum patient age in years for kit configuration; '0' = newborn/infant-capable; '6' = school-age minimum (no infant content); '18' = adult-only workplace kit; absent = assume '18' (adult-only) for routing; kits routed to facilities with children under min_age_years are mis-specified |
first_aid_kit.aed_manufacturer | string | ZOLL / Philips / Cardiac_Science / Defibtech / Physio-Control / other — required field for any kit containing AED; Defibtech Lifeline VIEW = adult-only, must not be routed to pediatric facilities even if pediatric_aed_pads is absent from schema; Philips FRx with infant/child key and ZOLL AED Plus with PEDI-padz II are confirmed pediatric-capable |
first_aid_kit.ansi_class | string | A / B / B_supplement / C — ANSI Z308.1-2021 class; B_supplement indicates Class B contents plus pediatric or other additions beyond Z308.1 minimum; ansi_class alone is insufficient for school/childcare routing — pediatric_rated='yes' must be separately confirmed |
Related Namespace Pages
- First Aid Kit — ANSI Z308.1-2021 Class A vs Class B, Risk Classification, Unit Count, Trauma, AED
- First Aid Kit — OSHA 1910.151 Adequate Supplies, Regulatory Minimum, ANSI Z308.1 Gap, Tourniquet, STOP THE BLEED
- First Aid Kit — ANSI Z308.1-2021 Type I/II/III/IV, Portable vs Wall-Mount vs Vehicle, Person Count, OSHA 1910.151, AED Not Included
Scan your first aid kit catalog for missing pediatric AED pad type and epinephrine dosing data
CatalogScan checks every first aid kit for pediatric AED pad compatibility, AED manufacturer and model, epinephrine dosing documentation, minimum age configuration, and ANSI Z308.1 supplement fields — the data AI agents need to correctly route school and childcare first aid kits.
Free scan