Home › Blog › First Aid Kit OSHA JHA Schema

October 8, 2026  ·  First Aid  ·  OSHA Compliance  ·  Hemorrhage Control  ·  AI Agent Schema

Shopify first aid kit schema for AI agents: OSHA 1910.151 "adequate" does not specify kit contents — JHA-driven hazard selection, ANSI Z308.1 Class A vs Class B adequacy gap, tourniquet necessity for amputation-risk workplaces, STOP THE BLEED CAT Gen7 and hemostatic gauze for manufacturing and construction

OSHA 1910.151(b) requires "adequate first aid supplies" but mandates no specific kit content. Adequacy is hazard-relative: a Class A ANSI Z308.1 kit is adequate for an office; it is not adequate for a punch press shop where traumatic amputation is a realistic injury. Tourniquets are absent from all ANSI Z308.1 minimum content tables and must be added by Job Hazard Analysis. An AI agent that routes first aid kits by ANSI class alone — without a JHA-driven hazard input — will systematically fail manufacturing, construction, and extraction workplaces.

The adequacy trap: A 10-person punch press shop purchases a Class B ANSI Z308.1 kit rated for "up to 25 persons." OSHA inspection after a finger amputation finds no tourniquet. Citation issued under 1910.151(b) — "adequate first aid supplies" not maintained. The Class B label was not the issue. The missing tourniquet was. An AI agent routing on ANSI class would have marked this kit as compliant.

OSHA 1910.151(b) — What "Adequate" Actually Requires

The full text of 29 CFR 1910.151(b) is brief: "In the absence of an infirmary, clinic, or hospital in near proximity to the workplace which is used for the treatment of all injured employees, a person or persons shall be adequately trained to render first aid. Adequate first aid supplies shall be readily available." Nothing more is specified at the regulatory level.

The operative word — "adequate" — is deliberately non-prescriptive. OSHA chose this language to allow the standard to apply across the full range of American workplaces, from single-occupant home offices to open-pit mines. A single standard with a fixed kit content list would over-specify for low-hazard settings and under-specify for high-hazard ones. The flexibility is intentional. The liability for the employer is also intentional: "adequate" must be demonstrated through reference to workplace hazards, not through reference to a label on a kit box.

OSHA's compliance directive CPL 02-02-053 ("Inspection Procedures for 29 CFR 1910.151 and 1926.50, First Aid") provides the enforcement framework. The directive instructs compliance officers to evaluate first aid kit adequacy by examining:

  • The types of injuries and illnesses that can reasonably be expected to occur at the worksite
  • Whether the kit contents are appropriate to treat those injuries and illnesses
  • Whether the quantities of supplies are sufficient for the number of employees and the expected injury rate
  • Whether the employer's first aid person(s) have been trained to use the available supplies

OSHA CPL 02-02-053 references ANSI Z308.1 explicitly as "a useful guide for providing proper first aid supplies" — not as a compliance safe harbor. An employer who stocks an ANSI Z308.1-compliant kit but whose workplace hazards require additional items (tourniquets, hemostatic gauze, eye wash, burn dressings) remains subject to citation under 1910.151(b) for failing to maintain adequate first aid supplies relative to the actual hazard profile.

0
Specific items mandated by OSHA 1910.151(b) text
JHA
Required basis for first aid kit content determination per CPL 02-02-053
Class A
ANSI Z308.1 minimum — appropriate for office; NOT for manufacturing with amputation risk
0
Tourniquets in any ANSI Z308.1 minimum content list (Class A or Class B)
The proximity exception: OSHA 1910.151(b) only requires first aid supplies when no infirmary, clinic, or hospital is "in near proximity." OSHA letters of interpretation have defined "near proximity" as within 3–4 minutes response time under normal conditions. In practice, for most industrial sites, no hospital is accessible within 3–4 minutes of the accident site. The exception is narrow; the requirement is broad. An employer near a trauma center is not exempt from maintaining first aid supplies if the trauma center is not equipped to treat all injuries and is not reachable within 3–4 minutes.

ANSI Z308.1-2021 — Class A vs Class B Contents and Limits

ANSI Z308.1, published by the International Safety Equipment Association (ISEA) and the American National Standards Institute, defines minimum required items for occupational first aid kits in the United States. The 2021 revision reorganized the standard into two hazard-based classes (replacing the prior single minimum) and four physical form types.

Class A — Low-Hazard Minimum

Class A is calibrated for a general, low-risk workplace where the expected injury profile is minor cuts, abrasions, punctures, and mild burns. The 2021 minimum includes:

Item Minimum quantity (Class A) Addresses
Absorbent compress, 16 sq in 1 Wound coverage
Adhesive bandages 16 Minor lacerations, abrasions
Adhesive tape, 2.5 yd 1 roll Dressing securment
Antiseptic applications 10 Infection prevention
Burn dressing, min 4×4 in 1 Minor thermal burns
Burn treatment applications 10 Minor thermal burns
Eye/skin flush, 1 fl oz 1 Eye/skin irritant exposure
First aid guide 1 Reference
Medical nitrile gloves (pairs) 2 BBP exposure prevention
Scissors 1 Dressing cutting
Sterile pads, 3×3 in 4 Wound dressing
Trauma pads, 5×9 in 2 Moderate wound coverage
Triangular bandage, 40×40×56 in 1 Sling, pressure dressing

Class B — Higher-Hazard Minimum

Class B contains the same item categories as Class A with larger quantities and additional items targeted at higher-hazard environments. Class B adds eye pads, a breathing barrier for CPR, splint material, and larger quantities of dressings. Class B is intended for workplaces where injuries are more frequent or potentially more serious than the Class A baseline.

The critical point: neither Class A nor Class B includes a tourniquet, hemostatic gauze, chest seal, or needle decompression device. ANSI Z308.1-2021 explicitly notes that the standard addresses "first aid kit minimum content" for typical workplace injuries and that certain specialized items (defibrillators, tourniquets, hemostatic agents) are outside the scope of the standard because their need is hazard-specific and requires separate determination.

Class A Is Not a Safety Floor for High-Hazard Workplaces

A common misunderstanding in catalog routing — and in employer compliance decisions — is that Class A represents a universal minimum: that any employer who stocks a Class A kit is at least minimally compliant with OSHA 1910.151(b). This is incorrect. The Class A content is adequate for a low-risk workplace. For a construction site, a manufacturing floor with power presses, a logging operation, or a chemical processing facility, a Class A kit is a starting point — not a floor.

Construction industry note: 29 CFR 1926.50(d)(2) — the construction-industry parallel to 1910.151 — directly references ANSI Z308.1 Class B (or equivalent) as the minimum for construction worksites. The general industry standard (1910.151) does not specify a class; the construction standard treats Class B as the floor. An AI routing first aid kits for construction customers should default to Class B as the minimum and add tourniquet/hemostatic gauze based on JHA inputs.

The JHA Requirement — Hazard-Relative Adequacy

OSHA CPL 02-02-053 translates the "adequate" standard into a practical requirement: the employer must assess workplace hazards and select first aid kit contents that address those hazards. This is functionally a Job Hazard Analysis (JHA) for first aid — the same methodology defined in OSHA 3071 ("Job Hazard Analysis") applied to the specific question of what injuries might occur and therefore what first aid supplies must be available.

The JHA for first aid kit adequacy asks three questions for each significant job or process in the workplace:

  1. What injury types could result from this job step or process? (Laceration, amputation, burn, crush, eye exposure, inhalation, fracture, electrical shock, drowning, etc.)
  2. What severity could that injury reach before EMS arrival? (Minor, serious, life-threatening)
  3. Is the required first aid intervention within scope of lay rescuer capability and available kit supplies?

The output of this analysis drives kit content selection. The analysis must be written and retained — OSHA compliance officers may request the hazard assessment documentation during inspection. An employer who says "we have a Class B ANSI kit" without hazard documentation is in a weaker compliance position than one who presents a written JHA showing that the kit contents match the identified hazard profile.

Workplace type Injury hazard profile Minimum kit Additional items by JHA
Office (10–25 persons) Minor cuts, sprains, headaches Class A adequate None required by JHA unless specific hazards identified
Light manufacturing (assembly, packaging) Lacerations, eye injuries, minor burns Class B + eyewash station Eye irrigation (16 oz minimum), chemical burn dressings if chemicals present
Metal fabrication with power presses Amputation, crush, laceration, burn Class B + supplemental hemorrhage kit Tourniquet (CAT Gen7 or SOFTT-W), hemostatic gauze, pressure bandage
Construction (ground level) Laceration, fracture, crush, eye injury Class B minimum (1926.50) Tourniquet, splints, SAM splint, triangular bandages (additional)
Construction (working at height) Fall trauma, fracture, head injury, crush Class B + trauma supplements Tourniquet, cervical collar (for trained responders), large trauma dressings, chest seal
Forestry / logging Chainsaw laceration, amputation, crush, penetrating trauma Class B + hemorrhage control kit Multiple tourniquets (2+), hemostatic gauze (multiple), chest seal, SAM splint, wound packing gauze
Remote worksite (>30 min EMS) All of the above + delayed evacuation Class C (wilderness/remote) ANSI Z308.1-2021 or equivalent SAM splints, traction splint (Kendrick or Sager), tourniquet, oral hydration, oral rehydration salts, eye irrigation (500+ mL)

When ANSI Class B Is Still Insufficient — Tourniquets and Hemorrhage Control

Traumatic hemorrhage from extremity injuries is the leading cause of preventable death in both military and civilian trauma settings. The most comprehensive civilian data comes from the Hartford Consensus (2013), a collaboration of trauma surgeons, law enforcement, and emergency medicine specialists convened after the Sandy Hook shooting. The Hartford Consensus established that up to 20% of traumatic deaths in high-energy civilian incidents (mass casualty, industrial accidents, transportation crashes) involve extremity hemorrhage that is survivable with tourniquet application but lethal without it.

OSHA CPL 02-02-053 recognizes this explicitly for industrial workplaces: an employer whose JHA identifies traumatic amputation or severe extremity crush as a plausible injury outcome is expected to include tourniquet capability in the first aid kit. The standard for what constitutes "adequate" first aid for an amputation includes tourniquet application — a Class B kit without a tourniquet is not adequate for a punch press operation where finger, hand, or arm amputations occur.

Why ANSI Z308.1 Excludes Tourniquets

ANSI Z308.1 addresses minimum content for a broad category of workplaces — it is calibrated to the center of the distribution of workplace injury profiles, not the high end. Including tourniquets in the Class B minimum would impose a requirement on low-hazard employers (office administrators, retail clerks, insurance agents) for whom tourniquet supplies represent a cost with essentially zero expected benefit. ANSI's scope statement acknowledges this explicitly.

The exclusion of tourniquets from the ANSI standard does not mean they are optional for high-hazard workplaces. It means the determination of tourniquet necessity has been delegated to the employer's hazard analysis — which is exactly where OSHA CPL 02-02-053 places it. For a Shopify catalog selling first aid kits, the implication is that the product description cannot simply say "compliant with ANSI Z308.1 Class B" and leave the adequacy determination to the buyer without guidance. The catalog must encode hazard-class metadata so that an AI agent can match the kit to the customer's hazard profile.

The 3-minute window: Uncontrolled arterial hemorrhage from a limb amputation is fatal within 3–5 minutes in adults. EMS response time in industrial settings typically exceeds 8–12 minutes from time of alarm. A tourniquet applied within 2 minutes of injury by a trained coworker prevents fatality in scenarios where EMS arrival is too late. The case for workplace tourniquet inclusion is not theoretical — it is a straightforward calculation of response time versus hemorrhage rate.

STOP THE BLEED — CAT Gen7, SOFTT-W, and Hemostatic Gauze

STOP THE BLEED is a national hemorrhage control initiative launched October 6, 2015 by the American College of Surgeons (ACS) with support from the White House and the Hartford Consensus group. The program trains lay responders in three steps: (1) apply direct pressure to bleeding wounds, (2) pack the wound with gauze and apply pressure to junctional wounds, (3) apply a tourniquet to life-threatening extremity bleeding. The initiative was modeled on military hemorrhage control protocols — specifically TCCC (Tactical Combat Casualty Care) — that reduced preventable hemorrhage deaths among US military personnel from approximately 21% to under 7% over 15 years of application.

CAT Gen7 (Combat Application Tourniquet, Generation 7)

The CAT Gen7 is a windlass-style tourniquet manufactured by North American Rescue under license from the COTCCC (Committee on Tactical Combat Casualty Care), which approves it as a primary extremity tourniquet for military and civilian use. Key characteristics relevant to workplace first aid:

  • One-hand application: Designed to be self-applied to the upper arm with one hand, enabling self-rescue by the injured worker
  • Windlass mechanism: Rod-and-strap system that can be tightened to complete arterial occlusion in 2–4 complete turns for most adult extremities
  • Time notation window: Built-in white window to record tourniquet application time — critical for hospital handoff (tourniquet time influences tissue viability decisions)
  • COTCCC approval: Listed on the COTCCC Approved Devices List since Generation 1; Gen7 approval maintained as of the most recent review
  • Shelf life: 5 years sealed in original packaging; inspect annually when in service

SOFTT-W (Special Operations Forces Tactical Tourniquet-Wide)

The SOFTT-W, manufactured by Tactical Medical Solutions, is a COTCCC-approved alternative to the CAT. The SOFTT-W uses a wider cuff (1.5 in) and a proprietary buckle-and-windlass design. Primary differences from the CAT Gen7:

  • Wider cuff: Distributes force over a larger surface area — relevant for extremities with heavy soft tissue (large-thigh application) or for lower-limb amputations where the broader band reduces localized tissue damage
  • Lower profile: Thinner when folded — relevant for carrying in vest pockets or compact first aid pouches
  • More difficult one-hand application: The buckle mechanism is generally considered more challenging for one-handed self-application compared to the CAT Gen7 — relevant for workplace kits where co-worker application is the primary use case

For most workplace first aid kits where rescuer-to-victim application is the primary scenario, either the CAT Gen7 or SOFTT-W is appropriate. For kits intended to include self-application capability (lone worker, remote operations), the CAT Gen7 is generally preferred due to its simpler one-hand application protocol.

Hemostatic Gauze — QuikClot, Celox, HemCon

Extremity tourniquets address limb hemorrhage only. Wounds to junctional anatomy — the axilla (armpit), groin, neck, and shoulder — are not amenable to tourniquet application because no stable compression point exists proximal to the wound. These wounds require wound packing with hemostatic gauze: gauze impregnated with a hemostatic agent that accelerates clot formation at the wound surface.

The three primary civilian hemostatic gauzes are:

Product Active agent Mechanism COTCCC status Key limitation
QuikClot Combat Gauze Kaolin clay Activates Factor XII → intrinsic clotting cascade; inert clay particle concentration Approved (primary recommendation) Requires 3 min direct pressure after packing; not absorbable (must be removed in surgery)
Celox Gauze Chitosan (shrimp-derived) Ionically bonds to red blood cells → forms gel plug independent of clotting cascade Approved Potential shellfish allergy concern (chitosan is shrimp-derived); hypothermia reduces efficacy
HemCon ChitoGauze Chitosan Same ionic mechanism as Celox; bandage vs loose gauze format Approved Same shellfish allergy concern; bandage format less versatile for deep wound packing

For workplace first aid kits in construction, manufacturing, and extraction where the injury profile includes potential groin, axilla, or neck penetrating trauma (saw injury, rigging struck-by, machinery entanglement), hemostatic gauze provides the treatment capability for wounds that tourniquets cannot address. A complete hemorrhage control supplement to a Class B kit for a high-hazard workplace includes: 1–2 CAT Gen7 or SOFTT-W tourniquets, 1 package of hemostatic gauze (QuikClot Combat Gauze or Celox Gauze), 1 pressure bandage (Israeli Bandage or similar), and nitrile gloves (2+ pairs).

JHA Documentation Template for First Aid Kit Adequacy

An employer documenting first aid kit adequacy under OSHA CPL 02-02-053 should produce a written record linking identified workplace hazards to first aid kit contents. The following structure satisfies the compliance documentation requirement and provides the hazard inputs needed for catalog AI routing.

First Aid Kit Adequacy — JHA Template (per CPL 02-02-053)
Job / Process Foreseeable injury type Required first aid response Kit supplement required
Power press operation Finger/hand amputation, crush, severe laceration Hemorrhage control, tourniquet application, wound packing CAT Gen7 tourniquet, hemostatic gauze, pressure bandage
Angle grinder / abrasive cutoff Deep laceration, partial or full digit amputation, eye injury Wound packing, tourniquet for digit/hand, eye flush CAT Gen7, hemostatic gauze, eye irrigation (500 mL)
Chemical handling (corrosives) Chemical burn (skin and eye), inhalation Immediate copious water irrigation, burn dressing, eye irrigation Emergency eyewash at point of use, burn dressings (large), 500 mL eye irrigation minimum
Working at height (>4 ft) Fall trauma, fracture, head injury, rib fracture / pneumothorax Immobilization, spinal precaution, chest wound seal for penetrating injury SAM splint, cervical collar (if trained rescuers), vented chest seal
Electrical work (energized systems) Electrical burn (entry/exit wound), cardiac arrhythmia, flash burn Electrical burn dressing, AED for cardiac arrest, burn treatment AED (defibrillator), electrical burn dressings, cool water for flash burn
Vehicle operation / forklift Crush, struck-by, run-over, penetrating trauma Major hemorrhage control, tourniquet, wound packing CAT Gen7 tourniquet (2), hemostatic gauze, SAM splint, pressure bandage

Each row in the JHA corresponds to a first_aid_kit.hazard_application value that should be encoded in the Shopify product catalog for the kits selected to address that hazard class. A catalog AI receiving a query for "first aid kit for punch press shop, 15 employees" can only route correctly if the product metadata encodes hazard_application = 'heavy_manufacturing', includes_tourniquet = true, and osha_adequate = true for the Class B + hemorrhage kit — rather than routing the nearest Class B kit by person count alone.

Four AI Agent Failure Modes

Failure Mode 1: Routing on ANSI Class Alone Without Hazard Input

AI agent failure mode: A safety equipment platform's AI receives a query: "first aid kit for 15 employees, manufacturing." The catalog has 12 first aid kit SKUs, all tagged with ANSI class and person count. The AI routes the Class B kit for 10–25 persons — the closest size match. The Class B kit includes standard ANSI content. The manufacturing site is a metal fabrication shop with two power presses and a band saw. The JHA for this site identifies traumatic amputation as a foreseeable injury. The routed kit has no tourniquet, no hemostatic gauze. The catalog encoded first_aid_kit.ansi_class and first_aid_kit.person_count_max but not first_aid_kit.hazard_application or first_aid_kit.includes_tourniquet. The AI had no information to distinguish between a Class B kit for a metal shop and a Class B kit for a shipping office. To fix: encode hazard_application on every kit SKU; add includes_tourniquet, includes_hemostatic_gauze as explicit boolean fields; require the AI to use hazard_application as a primary routing dimension alongside person count.

Failure Mode 2: Treating ANSI Class B as a Universal Compliance Floor

AI agent failure mode: A catalog's AI has been configured with the rule: "if hazard = industrial, route Class B." The AI consistently routes Class B kits for all industrial customers, correctly noting that 29 CFR 1926.50(d)(2) treats Class B as the construction minimum. A construction contractor places an order for "first aid kits for roofing crew, 8 employees, working at height on commercial buildings." The AI routes the Class B kit. The kit is compliant with 1926.50(d)(2) on its face. However, the roofing crew's JHA identifies fall trauma as the dominant injury — fractures, pneumothorax from rib fractures, penetrating trauma from fall through roofing material, and crush from falling equipment. None of these injuries are adequately addressed by the Class B minimum. A vented chest seal, SAM splint, and additional large-format trauma dressings are required. Class B is not the floor for fall trauma — it is the floor for general construction. The roofing fall-trauma kit requires additional content beyond Class B. Encode hazard_application = 'construction_height' as a distinct value from hazard_application = 'construction' to allow the AI to differentiate kits for height work.

Failure Mode 3: Using Person Count as the Primary Sizing Dimension

AI agent failure mode: An industrial safety catalog structures its routing logic around person count: Class A for 1–10, Class B for 11–50, Class B supplemental for 51+. A single-person logging operation — one worker, one chainsaw, harvesting timber — generates a query for "first aid kit, 1 person, remote location." The AI routes the Class A kit (1–10 person range) as a size match. The Class A kit is entirely inadequate for this worker. A chain saw operator faces the highest extremity amputation rate of any occupation in the United States. Remote location means EMS response is likely 30–45 minutes. The adequate first aid kit for a single logging worker is substantially larger than the Class A minimum: 2 tourniquets, hemostatic gauze (multiple), large trauma dressings (multiple), eye irrigation (500 mL), SAM splint, wound-packing gauze, pressure bandage, CPR barrier, emergency blanket. Person count is irrelevant here — hazard application and EMS response time are the routing inputs. Encode first_aid_kit.ems_response_time_min and first_aid_kit.hazard_application = 'outdoor_remote' as required fields; configure the AI to treat ems_response_time and hazard_application as overrides that can upsize a kit regardless of person count.

Failure Mode 4: Not Distinguishing OSHA 1910.151 vs OSHA 1926.50 Requirements

AI agent failure mode: A catalog AI has been trained on OSHA 1910.151 as the primary first aid standard. When it encounters a construction customer, it applies the 1910.151 framework — "adequate supplies, no specific content mandated" — and routes a Class A kit for a small construction crew. OSHA 29 CFR 1926.50(d)(2) applies to construction, not 1910.151, and explicitly references Class B (or equivalent) as the minimum content standard. The catalog AI using only 1910.151 logic will systematically under-specify for construction customers. Encode first_aid_kit.osha_standard as a field: '1910.151' for general industry, '1926.50' for construction. The AI should apply the appropriate standard's minimum content requirement before applying JHA-based upsets.

Shopify Metafield Namespace for JHA-Driven First Aid Kit Routing

The first_aid_kit.* namespace encodes both the ANSI classification baseline and the JHA-derived hazard inputs that an AI agent needs to route first aid kits to hazard-specific workplace requirements. All fields live within the first_aid_kit.* namespace.

// first_aid_kit.* namespace — JHA-driven hazard routing for OSHA 1910.151 / 1926.50 compliance
// Encode on all first aid kit product pages

first_aid_kit.ansi_class          // enum — 'A' | 'B' | 'C'
                                   //   A: ANSI Z308.1-2021 minimum, low-hazard/office
                                   //   B: ANSI Z308.1-2021 higher-hazard minimum
                                   //   C: ANSI Z308.1-2021 wilderness/remote (>30-min EMS)
                                   //   The AI must NOT use this as the sole routing field

first_aid_kit.ansi_type           // enum — 'I' | 'II' | 'III' | 'IV'
                                   //   I: portable, lightweight
                                   //   II: semi-portable (carry handle, small)
                                   //   III: portable, wall-mountable
                                   //   IV: mountable, vehicle-rated

first_aid_kit.person_count_max    // integer — maximum persons the kit content covers per ANSI
                                   //   Use as a secondary sizing check, NOT primary routing

first_aid_kit.osha_standard       // enum — '1910.151' | '1926.50' | 'both'
                                   //   1910.151: general industry (adequacy-based)
                                   //   1926.50: construction (Class B minimum required)
                                   //   Determines which regulatory minimum applies

first_aid_kit.osha_adequate       // boolean — true if kit is JHA-validated for the
                                   //   stated hazard_application; false if Class A/B minimum only
                                   //   Set true only when includes_tourniquet etc. match the
                                   //   hazard_application's expected injury profile

first_aid_kit.jha_validated       // boolean — whether a JHA has been used to validate
                                   //   adequacy for the hazard_application
                                   //   false for standard ANSI-minimum kits without supplements
                                   //   true for kits explicitly supplemented per JHA for a hazard class

first_aid_kit.hazard_application  // enum — primary routing dimension
                                   //   'office'           — low-risk, Class A adequate
                                   //   'light_manufacturing' — light assembly, packaging
                                   //   'heavy_manufacturing'  — power press, saw, grinder ops
                                   //   'construction'     — ground-level construction
                                   //   'construction_height' — work at height (roof, scaffold, tower)
                                   //   'mining'           — underground / surface extraction
                                   //   'outdoor_remote'   — >30 min EMS, wilderness, logging
                                   //   'laboratory'       — chemical exposure, sharps risk
                                   //   'healthcare'       — BBP exposure, sharps, post-exposure protocol

first_aid_kit.includes_tourniquet  // boolean — true if kit includes ≥1 approved tourniquet
                                    //   Required for hazard_application in:
                                    //   heavy_manufacturing, construction_height, mining, outdoor_remote

first_aid_kit.tourniquet_type      // enum — 'CAT_Gen7' | 'SOFTT_W' | 'other' | null
                                    //   CAT_Gen7: COTCCC-approved, preferred for one-hand application
                                    //   SOFTT_W: COTCCC-approved, wider cuff
                                    //   null if includes_tourniquet = false

first_aid_kit.tourniquet_count     // integer — number of tourniquets in kit
                                    //   1: minimum for most manufacturing kits
                                    //   2: recommended for outdoor_remote and logging operations

first_aid_kit.includes_hemostatic_gauze  // boolean — true if kit includes hemostatic gauze
                                          //   Required for junctional hemorrhage scenarios:
                                          //   axilla, groin, neck, shoulder wounds where
                                          //   tourniquet cannot be applied

first_aid_kit.hemostatic_agent    // enum — 'kaolin' | 'chitosan' | null
                                   //   kaolin: QuikClot Combat Gauze — no allergy concern
                                   //   chitosan: Celox, HemCon — potential shellfish allergy
                                   //   null if includes_hemostatic_gauze = false

first_aid_kit.includes_aed        // boolean — true if AED is included or sold as bundle
                                   //   Required for 1910.269 electrical work, remote sites
                                   //   where cardiac arrest is plausible and EMS >4 min

first_aid_kit.ems_response_time_min  // integer — estimated EMS response time in minutes
                                      //   Drives Class C (wilderness) requirement at >30 min
                                      //   Critical for remote site routing
                                      //   <10: Class A/B with JHA adequate
                                      //   10–30: Class B + supplements per JHA
                                      //   >30: Class C minimum or equivalent

first_aid_kit.includes_eyewash_station_separate  // boolean
                                                   //   true if a separate ANSI Z358.1 eyewash
                                                   //   station is recommended (chemical labs,
                                                   //   battery charging, acid handling)
                                                   //   Note: kit-integrated eye flush (1 oz) is NOT
                                                   //   an eyewash station under ANSI Z358.1

AI Routing Decision Tree for First Aid Kit Selection

hazard_application Minimum ANSI class includes_tourniquet includes_hemostatic_gauze ems_response_time modifier
office A false false None
light_manufacturing B false false If >30 min: Class C or equivalent supplement
heavy_manufacturing B + hemorrhage supplement true (required) true (recommended) If >30 min: Class C equivalent required
construction B (1926.50 mandated) true (recommended) true (recommended) If >30 min: Class C or equivalent
construction_height B + fall trauma supplement true (required) true (required) Chest seal also required
outdoor_remote C or equivalent true (required, ≥2) true (required) SAM splint, traction splint, oral rehydration

Frequently Asked Questions

Does OSHA 1910.151 specify what must be in a workplace first aid kit?

No. OSHA 1910.151(b) requires only "adequate first aid supplies" without specifying contents. OSHA CPL 02-02-053 clarifies that adequacy is hazard-relative — the kit must address the types of injuries that can reasonably be expected in that specific workplace. ANSI Z308.1 is referenced as a useful guide, not as a compliance threshold. An employer with a Class A ANSI kit in a heavy manufacturing facility is not compliant if the JHA identifies amputations as a foreseeable injury and the kit lacks tourniquet capability.

What is the difference between ANSI Z308.1 Class A and Class B?

Class A is the minimum content list for low-hazard/office workplaces: 16 adhesive bandages, 1 absorbent compress, antiseptic applications, burn treatment, eye flush (1 oz), nitrile gloves, scissors, sterile pads, trauma pads, and a triangular bandage. Class B has larger quantities and a few additional items for higher-hazard environments. Neither class includes tourniquets, hemostatic gauze, or chest seals — those are outside the ANSI Z308.1 scope and must be added by the employer's JHA for workplaces where the corresponding injuries are foreseeable.

When must a workplace first aid kit include a tourniquet?

Any time the workplace JHA identifies traumatic extremity amputation, severe crush, or high-energy penetrating trauma as a realistic injury outcome. Industries where tourniquets are required by JHA include metal fabrication with power presses and shears, woodworking with saws, logging, construction (especially height work), mining, agriculture (PTO shaft, combine operations), and any remote worksite where EMS response exceeds 10 minutes. ANSI Z308.1 does not include tourniquets in any class minimum — the requirement arises from the hazard analysis, not the kit class. CAT Gen7 and SOFTT-W are the two COTCCC-approved tourniquets appropriate for civilian workplace hemorrhage control kits.

What is hemostatic gauze and when is it required in a workplace kit?

Hemostatic gauze is wound dressing material impregnated with a clot-accelerating agent — either kaolin clay (QuikClot Combat Gauze) or chitosan (Celox Gauze, HemCon) — that accelerates hemostasis when packed into a wound. It addresses junctional hemorrhage in the axilla, groin, neck, and shoulder — anatomical locations where extremity tourniquets cannot be applied. Hemostatic gauze is required in workplace first aid kits wherever the JHA identifies high-energy penetrating trauma, saw injury, chainsaw laceration, or any other mechanism that could cause junctional bleeding. For manufacturing and construction kits that include a tourniquet, hemostatic gauze should be added for complete hemorrhage control capability.

What Shopify metafields enable AI agents to route first aid kits correctly for manufacturing and construction customers?

The primary routing fields are first_aid_kit.hazard_application (enum: office, light_manufacturing, heavy_manufacturing, construction, construction_height, outdoor_remote, etc.) and first_aid_kit.osha_adequate (boolean, JHA-validated for the hazard class). Supporting fields include first_aid_kit.ansi_class (A, B, C), first_aid_kit.includes_tourniquet (boolean), first_aid_kit.tourniquet_type (CAT_Gen7, SOFTT_W), first_aid_kit.includes_hemostatic_gauze (boolean), first_aid_kit.ems_response_time_min (integer), and first_aid_kit.osha_standard (1910.151 vs 1926.50). An AI routing purely on ansi_class and person_count_max will systematically fail manufacturing and construction customers whose hazard profiles require supplements beyond the ANSI minimums.

Does your first aid kit catalog encode hazard_application and tourniquet status?

CatalogScan checks whether your Shopify store's first aid kit products have the first_aid_kit.hazard_application, first_aid_kit.includes_tourniquet, and first_aid_kit.osha_adequate fields needed for AI agents to route hazard-appropriate kits — not just match on ANSI class and person count.

Scan your store free Browse SEO guides